Fred Michmershuizen presidential history

Presidents who served two full terms of office

Twelve U.S. presidents served two complete, consecutive, four-year terms of office. They are:

  • George Washington
  • Thomas Jefferson
  • James Madison
  • James Monroe
  • Andrew Jackson
  • Ulysses S. Grant
  • Woodrow Wilson
  • Dwight D. Eisenhower
  • Ronald Reagan
  • Bill Clinton
  • George W. Bush
  • Barack Obama

Here are some other notes about presidential terms of office:

  • One president, Grover Cleveland, served two complete, but non-consecutive terms.
  • And one president, Franklin D. Roosevelt, served three complete terms and was elected and began serving a fourth term. FDR died in office during his fourth term.
  • After Andrew Jackson left office in 1837, it would be 32 years and 10 presidents before the next two-termer, Grant, took the oath in 1868. Then after Grant left office after his second term ended in 1877, it would be 36 years and nine presidents before the next two-termer, Wilson, became president in 1913.
  • And since Reagan was inaugurated in 1981, there has only been one one-term president, George H.W. Bush.

I put this information together for my friend Steve’s “Never Stop Learning” series that he is posting to Facebook.

This portrait of George Washington is by Gilbert Stuart and dates from 1795:

President George Washington, Gilbert Stuart (1795)
President George Washington, Gilbert Stuart (1795)